Follow Innovative Percussion on Facebook Follow Innovative Percussion on Twitter Instagram YouTube


Stubernic Fantasy for Orchestra

marimba concerto with orchestra

Composer: Mark Ford
Publisher: Innovative Percussion
Instrumentation: Solo Marimba (3 players), Piccolo, 2 Flute, Oboe, English Horn, Eb Clarinet, 2 Bb Clarinet, Bb Bass Clarinet, 2 Bassoon, Contrabassoon, 2 F Horn, 2 C Trumpet, 2 Trombone, Tuba, Timpani, 5 Percussion, and Full Strings

Program Notes:

Stubernic Fantasy is based on my marimba trios Stubernic and its sequel, Afta-Stuba. After the premiere of Afta-Stuba in 2000, Eugene Corporon congratulated me and said, “Now write me a wind ensemble work like that!” At the time I did not think that it was feasible. But I was awarded a University of North Texas Faculty Fellowship in 2011 to write such a composition and I have loved every minute!  Regarding the music, this concerto is available in both orchestral and wind ensemble versions. I tried to leave the original marimba parts untouched but there are a few isolated moments where minor changes were necessary.


Also available for wind ensemble.

"Mark Ford has borrowed from his two popular marimba trios, “Stubernic” and “Afta-Stuba,” to create “Stubernic Fantasy” for three solo players on one instrument, with either wind ensemble or orchestra accompaniment. Like the earlier works, the soloists are required to memorize their parts so that they can walk behind one another, circle the instrument, strike the end pieces, play with shafts, play on the resonators and floor, and perform various other gestures.  Like the first piece, “Stubernic,” the work is played mainly with two mallets but features Player 1 in a four-mallet solo section. As one might expect, Ford has written nice parts for the six percussionist in the wind ensemble as well, giving them ample space to be featured in percussion interludes as well as providing important rhythmic grooves throughout. The ensemble parts provide rhythmic energy and a nice variety of colors.
“Stubernic Fantasy” is sure to be a crowd pleaser and provides an opportunity to showcase three percussionists in a venue other than the solo recital or percussion ensemble concert. The score lists the duration as 12 minutes, but a YouTube version with the composer performing lasts just over 13½ minutes." - Susan Martin Tariq, Percussive Notes September 2014

click here for the full image

Additional Images

Related Artists

Mark Ford Mark Ford
University of North Texas
Find a dealer in your area!