Follow Innovative Percussion on Facebook Follow Innovative Percussion on Twitter Instagram YouTube

Percussion Ensembles

Share On
Share on FacebookTwitter

Kvart I Fyra

percussion ensemble for 18 or more players
Composer: Anders Åstrand
Publisher: Innovative Percussion, Inc.
Instrumentation: Steelpans - lead, double tenor, double second, bass, orchestra bells, crotales, 2 xylophones, 3 vibraphones, 3 marimbas (5 oct), snare drum, 5 tom-toms, castanets, 5 sus.cymbals, bass drum

Program Notes:
It was commissioned by James Campbell for the University of Kentucky Percussion Ensemble and it was premiered at 2004 Percussive Arts Society International Convention in Nashville, TN. The set up is for four choirs of instruments: steel pans, metal keyboards, wooden keyboards, and orchestra percussion.

"This large-scale work for percussion ensemble was commissioned by James Campbell for the University of Kentucky Percussion Ensemble Showcase concert at PASIC 2004 in Nashville. Written for 18 or more players, the instrumentation has been subdivided into four choirs of percussion. The steel drum choir includes parts for lead pans, double tenors, double seconds and bass pans. The keyboard percussion choir includes three each of wood instruments (marimbas) and metal instruments (vibraphones) and includes parts that would intimidate most drum corps “pit” fans. The battery consists of four players with standard concert percussion instruments. With a tempo indication of “Groovy,” it is readily apparent that the audience will enjoy this work. The length of 12–15 minutes may be slightly daunting but the variety and intensity of the piece should shine through. A performance of this piece requires a large array of equipment and several talented musicians but would be a fun experience. If you have the equipment and personnel, it is recommended that this piece be programmed as a concert closer on a collegiate percussion ensemble concert. By the way, the title of the piece is “3:45 a.m.” in Swedish, which is the time when the composer finished the composition!" - Julia Gaines Percussive Notes, October 2008

click here for the full image

Additional Images

Find a dealer in your area!